Blogging for blogs sake

Blogging post image med

There is a fine line between blogging to blog and blogging for the numbers. I pride myself and my blog on its bloginess and hopefully that comes across as authenticity. But how far can you count on that if no one is reading.

I don’t usually get carried away with the numbers. Yes of course its nice to see that more and more people are reading what you are writing, but it’s not what drives me, what drives these posts. As a new blogger I have the luxury of being able to blog about whatever comes into my head. I don’t have sponsors or reviews that I have to find a way to fit into my blog, I dont have any external influences to blog about anything other than what I want to blog about and that suits me and my blog just fine for the moment. I’m not saying that I wouldnt if the right opportunities came along, because why not open that door and see what’s behind it, Id love to see where this blog could take me. However you cant help but start to compare yourself against your peers and develop a bit of a fascination with the numbers when you stumble on open conversations between fellow bloggers on Twitter, and when its so easy to track how many people have viewed your blog at almost any one point in time. A series of all time low views of my blog over the weekend piqued my interest in this topic and got me questioning for the first time whether I have been doing enough to promote my blog.

You see, for those not in the know (I doubt that there are many of you) there is a whole world of extra curricula activities out there when it comes to promoting your blog besides the usual Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook and Google + and im not even signed up to all of those. Since I started blogging in November I have stumbled across guest blogging, SEO, linky parties, tags and the like, and I just find it all a little bit overwhelming. When I started my blog it was just becuase I wanted to blog. I wanted somewhere to ramble, and ponder and vent and talk as if no one was watching. So far that has been exactly what I have done. But Ive started to wonder how people will stumble across my blog when it is one of a gazillion blogs.

I dont want to get sucked in, I want to stay true to myself and my blog. But is it inevitable? Can you be a successful blogger by just blogging and blogging alone? Id love to hear from others on their thoughts and experiences as seasoned bloggers, new bloggers, or just observers of the whole blogging scene.

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/ethanhein/4666212223/”>Ethan Hein</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a> <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a>

14 thoughts on “Blogging for blogs sake

  1. I started to blog for the memories that are so easily forgotten. I think it’s hard to not get caught up in numbers but I remind myself I started for my family memories. It is nice to know others have read though! X

    • Thanks for reading and commenting. Thats exactly how I feel. You have to keep reminding yourself why you started blogging and why you blog in order to not get swept up in everything else going on in the blog world!

  2. I’ve written a couple of posts like this and have tried to stay away from the numbers/rankings side of things so i get where you are coming from! I try and blog things that i enjoy writing about or doing and not what i feel people would like to read – if they do like it that’s a bonus!
    Oh and i don’t really do much on the social networks, a bit of twittering but i don’t have time for much else.
    I really like your blog by the way 🙂

    • Thank you, that means a lot! Theres so many amazing, pretty blogs out there (like yours!) that it really does mean a lot when someone actually takes the time to say they like my blog. Its also really nice to hear that an established blogger like you say that you don’t actually do much on the social networks either, but still have a successful, well recognised blog regardless – there is hope that people will find us quiet bloggers eventually!

      • Oh crikey i’m blushing now!! Thank you – i have only been going 6 months though so not that established!!
        I seriously think the best way to build your blog is read and comment on lots of others, that’s basically what i do anyway xx

      • Sorry, too much blog crushing! I have read on lots of sites about blogging that commenting on others is a really good way to build your blog so I guess it does work. I just find that I never have as much time as Id like to look at other blogs. Definitely something I want to do more of this year if I can.

  3. From my experience, a blog is like growing a garden. Anyone can buy some shrubs and stick them in, then buy more shrubs, but to create a really good garden comes from careful planting and takes time. It is something that grows over time. There is some much pressure and so many channels to do ‘stuff’ on. There are individuals who do very little other than pour over their blog. Your blog is lovely, it’s very clear and honest. Stick with that – it will grow. The good ones do.

  4. I started blogging consistently in May 2012 to document my third pregnancy. The other day I looked back on my pregnancy posts, and I am so glad I kept up my blog because now I have all my memories in writing! I can print the posts out and put them in a safe place.

    After my daughter was born, I started blogging more about our family life. I honestly do not check my blog stats because like you, I blog as a hobby, not for numbers. I have decided to get back into freelance writing apart from my blog. So blogging helped me get back in the habit of writing again.

    I, too, wonder how bloggers are able to increase their readers and blog for product reviews. It seems like the new trend. If you find out how to blog for reviews, I hope you write a blog about how to get into it! I’d love to learn more! 🙂

    I really enjoy connecting with other parents who blog and general bloggers. I love reading about other’s lives and what’s on their mind. I love it so much more than Facebook and Twitter. Happy blogging! 🙂 xo

    • Its so great to hear from so many other bloggers that they blog for similar reasons. I do see a lot of bloggers doing product reviews, some of them look like a lot of fun and I have been very tempted to go down that route. However, Im not sure whether pure product reviews would be in the best interest of my blog at the moment as it just feels very far from the style and content of what I blog about. That said, I would really like to work with companies of products that I use and really like and have a few ideas of how I could make this work for the blog. I dont want to say too much, but I may have something pretty exciting (in my books) in the works – watch this space!

      I really enjoy the connection with other bloggers and I love to share what I learn, so if I do discover anything about blogging worth sharing then I will!

  5. I do think that getting sucked in is pretty inevitable… It comes with the blogging territory. But I don’t think of it as a bad thing. In fact I think it’s lovely to build a community that you can cherish (and vice versa) that you may never before come across without your blog. So go ahead, get sucked in and see where it take you 😉

    • I agree, I love the community feel to blogging. I do think some of the things you can get involved in are great, but I do think there is a lot out there and it can get overwhelming trying to understand it all, and even more so if you try to get involved in it all. I agree theres no harm in getting involved in all the different things going on, but I do think that as a blogger you need to find a balance that works for you and your blog.

  6. I’ve been feeling the same! My blog is only a couple weeks old and I feel very attached to it already!! I can’t imagine being involved in all of the other side of it (reviews, sponsors etc!) but I think that’s mostly because here I’m so far away from all of that kind of thing!

    • I know, its so hard to imagine inst it. I totally relate to being new and very protective and close to your blog. Im very aware that once you get past the newness of it all, the reviews and sponsor side of it probably becomes a lot more interesting and tempting. S`o although I would never say never, im definitely enjoying where my blog is now.

      By the way, I love your blog! I’m also very jealous of the fact that you are in the gorgeous, sunny Seychelles – we were there for our honeymoon two years ago 🙂

Leave a Reply

