Im falling apart

Facial massage

My poor husband. He probably wasn’t prepared for the barrage of verbal assault that was just unleashed on him this morning. But he did dare to comment on my rather unkempt toenails. You see in another life he was used to seeing beautiful manicured fingers and toes, but these things seem to fall by the wayside these days. I was wondering when it would come though. The moment when he would dare to pass comment on something. Because I am only too aware that I am a shadow of my former self, if you lean in closely enough to look. But that’s ok with me. You see, I did look at my toes just yesterday and consider doing something about them, but then there was something else that seemed to take precedent. There is always something else. As I had to remind my husband this morning. I don’t have time to go for a pedicure or paint my nails, I don’t have time to get a wax or do my hair or my eyebrows or pretty much anything that needs doing far more regularly than it is these days. Because I always have something to wash, or sterilise, food to make, cook, freeze or defrost, things to clean, tidy, iron, put away, sort out, shopping to do, baby groups to go to, so you see where exactly is the time to sort myself out. There just aren’t enough hours in the day, enough days in the week or enough hands to help. I don’t know what will happen when I go back to work, but that’s probably a whole other blog post. Goodness knows how many times this week I’ve thought that I really should make a trip to the hairdressers, sort out these caterpillars above my eyes but resigned myself to the fact that once again, it won’t be this week. Maybe next week will be the week. My husband, a little taken aback by the very long list of things that rolled off my tongue with barely a breath in between, seemed to register something akin to surprise, uncertainty, defeat and love all at the same time. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not exactly hard done by. When I have a catch up with the girls the husband will look after the little lady no problem. When it comes to Christmas and birthdays, anniversaries and special occasions I’m always spoilt. But when it comes to the day to day, well, things could be a little better. A little more balanced perhaps. So the result of my little tirade this morning? Rather surprisingly and unexpectedly a day of being pampered by yours truly, and for the first time in six months I have finally been able to exhale..

photo credit: Vook tv via photopin cc

4 thoughts on “Im falling apart

  1. Love this post, I couldn’t have written it better myself. My OH doesn’t dare comment on those things now but I know he’s thinking it!! xx
    pollyslittleworld.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

