Blog your heart out

blogyourheartout

I’ve been asked by the lovely Mummy’s to do list to take part in the Blog Your Heart Out meme. I tried to find out who actually started the meme by clicking through the various blogs that have taken part so far, but it ended up being a bit like Chinese whispers and pass the parcel all in one go and I never ended up getting to the true source.

Anyway, it’s always nice to be tagged to join in, and because I haven’t done one for a while, and its a great way for my readers and fellow bloggers to get to know me a little better I thought I’d get involved. So here goes:

1. What/who encouraged you to start blogging?
I’ve always wanted to start a blog, but it wasn’t until I was on maternity leave and my daughter arrived that I actually had a real drive, desire and motivation to start it. I absolutely love blogging and wish I had started one earlier. It would have been great to have been able to write about some of my pregnancy experiences as well as my parenting ones.

2. How did you choose what topics to blog about?
My Petit Canard is a name that I gave my daughter when I was pregnant, and so the blog which has the same title is intended to document my new experiences as a mother. I never consciously set out to create a blog about parenting, I just knew that I wanted to create a blog and I wanted to be able to talk about my life. It just so happens that my life at the moment is dominated by learning about what kind of parent I am, and how to be a good and better parent. I expect that as my experiences and my life change, so will my blog.

3. What is something people don’t know about you?
I wish I could be more openly emotional. I don’t know whether its being the eldest child, or the life that I’ve led, but I’m one of those “strong” people who don’t tend to show much emotion – for example I never cried at my wedding, and I just about cried at the birth of my daughter. The ironic thing is that I am actually quite an emotional person, just not openly so. I’ve always seen it as a positive, particularly from a professional perspective, but the older I get the less I see it in this light. I’m hoping that becoming a mummy will start to soften me, because I want to be able to show my daughter that it is ok to wear your heart on your sleeve sometimes.

4. What three words describe your style?
Honest, personal and light-hearted.

5. What do you like to do when you’re not blogging?
Spend time with my little lady. Spend time with my family. Spend time with my friends. Usually pretty much in that order. As a new mummy I don’t have much time for anything else!

I’ve chosen to tag in a few of my favourite bloggers: Sand in my Toes, Mama Bean Blog, Mummy Says, The Pumping Mama and Dancing with Dirty Feet.

The rules if they choose to take part are simple; answer the five questions above, link back to this blog in your post and nominate five more blogs that you think are great to continue the meme. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

