Medela Swing breastpump review & competition

New logo_medela_color

The lovely folks over at Medela have offered up a Medela Swing breastpump as a competition giveaway to help close what feels like a pretty successful breastfeeding blog series, thanks to all you lovely readers and fellow bloggers.

For me, the Medela Swing breastpump is the perfect competition giveaway because it is (not so coincidentally) the same Medela breastpump that I happen to own, and always recommend to other mummy friends. Therefore I am able to talk about it in great detail, and from personal experience having used it quite a bit over the last seven months.

I bought the Medela Swing after doing a fair bit of research and reading lots of reviews by others that had purchased and used the Medela. I pretty much always read buyers reviews before I buy something baby related, and I found that the reviews for the Medela Swing were pretty strong and consistent. I hadn’t originally planned to buy a breastpump as I wasn’t sure whether I would be successful breastfeeding or not, but after we got past the six to eight week mark I decided to buy one in the hope that I could express for when we were out and about. Unfortunately the little lady had other plans and rejected anything other than the breast for about four months, so its been something that I have started to use more frequently as she’s gotten older, and especially since she’s started weaning.

What I particularly love about the Medela Swing breastpump is how easy it makes expressing and how comfortable it is. I would recommend it to anyone, and often do when the topic of breastfeeding and expressing come up. This is a fantastic product, and im really excited that I am able to give one away as a competition prize!

I think user reviews are always great because you get a very honest account of a product, so I thought Id do one here for the Medela Swing. Hopefully this is useful for anyone thinking about purchasing a breastpump or would like to enter our competition which you can find details of at the end.

Medela Swing Pic 1

Technology
When I was looking for a breastpump, I wanted to find something that expressed in a way that was as similar to breastfeeding as possible. What I wasn’t expecting though, was to find a breastpump on the market as clever as the Medela Swing. Medela have rather impressively developed two-phase expression technology which mimics the way that babies breastfeed. What this means when you use the Medela Swing, is that it goes through two distinct phases of pumping. The first, a stimulation phase which mimics the way that a baby suckles in order to stimulate a let down, and the second, an expression phase where the pump begins to express once the milk begins to flow. It is ingenious design, and for me is what makes the Medela Swing such an efficient, yet comfortable and easy breastpump to use.

Design
The Medela Swing looks and feels attractive, modern and sleek, as far as breastfeeding pumps go. The design is pleasant and up to date and doesn’t look like your typical, boring breastpump. It’s relatively light and fairly compact. I wouldn’t necessarily buy a breastpump based on the design, but I do think the Medela Swing is one of the more attractive breastpumps on the market and does stand out as a nice bit of parenting kit to have in the house.

Medela Swing Pic 2

Ease of Use
What I love about the Medela Swing is how easy it is to use and how easy it makes expressing. It isn’t overly complicated and it isn’t fiddly. There are only a few components to construct each time you use it, and its very easy to remember how to do it after you’ve used it the first time. It literally takes about 10 seconds to put it together and seconds to deconstruct when you’ve finished. It’s also easy to clean and very easy to sterilise. The main control unit has four buttons – a power button, two buttons to increase or decrease the suction and one to begin the expression phase if needed. These are really all the buttons you need, although I often find that the machine is so optimally set up that I only ever really use the power button. I really don’t think Medela could have made it any easier if they tried.

Comfort
The comfort aspect was really important for me when choosing a breastpump. I’d heard from friends and I think maybe even a health visitor about how uncomfortable using a breastpump could be, and how they could basically destroy your nipples. But I decided to go ahead and get one anyway, and I’m glad I did because the other thing I love about the Medela Swing is how comfortable it makes expressing. The breast shield is a good size, and the level of suction can easily be increased or decreased for comfort. When I express it pretty much feels the same as breastfeeding, in that I cant feel anything. I don’t think you can ask any more from a breastpump can you?

Medela Swing Pic 4

Speed
I think how long it takes to express a certain quantity of milk probably depends to a degree on the individual, their let down and flow of milk, but I have personally found that with the Medela Swing I can get around 150ml out in about ten minutes in the morning. Sometimes it can take a bit longer if its later in the day and my milk supply is low, but generally I have been very impressed with how quickly I can express a decent amount of milk with the Medela Swing and I think that is all down to their clever two-phase technology.

Noise
I have to admit, the Medela Swing does make a little bit of noise, but it isn’t anything offensive. You can still have a conversation, or watch TV without it being really noticeable. A number of the reviews that I came across for other brands of breastpumps when I was trying to decide what to get mentioned noise as a bit of an issue, but the Medela Swing doesn’t seem to suffer with this issue, and I certainly haven’t found it a problem.

Competition Instructions
So if you’d like to win a fantastic Medela Swing breastpump courtesy of Medela, all you need to do is answer this very simple question:

Approximately how long does it take to start replenishing your milk supply after breastfeeding or expressing?
Hint: the answer can be found in one of the breastfeeding blog series posts.
15 minutes
– 45 minutes
– 1 hour

Please email your answers to: mypetitcanard@hotmail.com using the subject: Medela Swing Competition. Include your full name, Twitter handle (if you have one) and address along with your answer.

T&Cs
The competition will close at 12am on Friday 28th February. Only one entry can be considered per person. One winner will be selected at random from all received correct entries. The winner will be contacted via email within 7 days of the closing date of the competition. In the event that the winner cannot be contacted by email within 7 days, a substitute winner will be drawn and the original winner will forfeit the prize.  There is no cash alternative to the prize.

One thought on “Medela Swing breastpump review & competition

  1. Pingback: All good things must come to an end.. | My Petit Canard

Leave a Reply

