Treasure Box

JoJo Maman Box

I’ve been holding onto an empty JoJo Maman Bebe box that one of the little lady’s gifts came in quite a few months ago. I don’t particularly know why I’ve been holding onto it other than I though it was quite nice. Today when I read New Young Mum’s blog I finally knew what I had been saving the box for – a treasure box of course! What is a treasury box I hear you ask. Well, it’s essentially a sensory box of everyday household objects that baby can explore and play with. The concept, based on the Montessori approach is to encourage learning through play.

Feeling instantly inspired, I ran around the house from room to room pulling open cupboards and drawers to find safe, yet interesting looking and feeling items for the little lady to get her hands on. Five minutes later, I had a treasure box our baby sensory teacher would have been proud of. The little lady definitely seemed to approve too. She absolutely loved taking each item out of the box over and over again, paying attention to a few of the items that piqued her interest. It managed to hold her interest for 10 – 15 minutes, which for a nine month old I think would be about right. I will definitely be trying out some of the other Treasure Box ideas that New Young Mum mentions in her blog. What a perfect Easter weekend activity!

Heres a sneak peak into our Treasure Box:

Treasury Box      Treasury Box Deconstructed

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Treasure Box

  1. Looks great; I’ve got an empty Jojo box too (haha)! I agree with the playtime too Amelia focuses with it for about 15minutes and she’s 8months 🙂 Glad I inspired you for the idea! x

  2. This is lovely, I have something similar but with none of those items in! I struggle with sensory play as Jem is intent on putting everything straight in his mouth (not ideal in the sensory room at our Children’s centre) so will try out some of your stuff 🙂

    • Thanks. I can’t take all the credit though, I was totally inspired by New Young Mum! My little lady still puts most things in her mouth first too. Perhaps you can find some mouthing friendly things for your box?..

Leave a Reply

