Im not broody, just nostalgic.

Bump pic

The strangest thing has happened. Whilst I have no desire to add to our little family any time soon, I miss being pregnant. I miss my bump. I know it probably sounds like im getting broody, but I promise you im not. I just miss the magic of it all. Each time I see another pregnant celebrity, or hear of a friend, colleague, or someone I know having a baby, I look back nostalgically on my pregnancy and I miss it fondly like it were a dear old friend. It’s so odd. Whilst I had a relatively easy pregnancy and actually enjoyed on the whole being pregnant, there were plenty of times, particularly towards the end that I was “done” with being pregnant. I got fed up of wearing the same dress or trousers three times a week. I got fed up of the night time peeing and the midnight snacks that my baby insisted on. I got fed up of not being able to sleep on my back, which was kind of funny considering I don’t even usually sleep on my back.Β  So at the time I would never had said that I “loved” being pregnant. But now that im not pregnant, I kind of miss it. I miss those beautiful baby hiccups that the little lady seemed to get ALL the time. I miss the secret nudges and kicks from within that only I would know about. I miss watching my body change and grow. I don’t think I have ever felt so womanly and alive. It’s probably no accident that feeling like this coincides with my return to work next week.Β  I do think part of it is the nostalgia of it all, but I do miss that feeling of contentment and happiness that comes from knowing that you are growing a tiny person inside of you. It is such a special time and I cant wait to experience it all over again. In the future. A long, long way in the future. But for now, the office and hopefully a career beckons..

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/bies/107729240/”>bies</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

4 thoughts on “Im not broody, just nostalgic.

  1. I can completely relate to this. I don’t want anymore children but I’m at the point now where I’m a little bit sad I will never have a bump again, never give birth again, never have newborn baby snuggles again. Definitely nostalgic for the times that I’ve already had x

  2. Hi there!
    I totally empathise with you, because at the moment I feel neither physically nor mentally prepared for another pregnancy/baby but I would happily spend a good hour looking at Gwenn’s baby photos and reminiscing and I do get very jealous when I see a heavily pregnant woman. It’s almost as if I don’t want another baby, I just want to do Gwenn’s baby stage again? And it’s not as if I don’t remember how hard it was when she was a newborn but I suppose now that I have a different perspective I have realised that difficult stages can be special nonetheless.
    x

Leave a Reply

