Independent little lady

Applause Please

Something has happened over the last three nights that I have daren’t to speak openly about for fear of tempting fate. The little lady has slept in her own cot, in her own room through the night, not once, not twice, but three nights in a row *cue applause*.

Whilst the little lady has slept through the night since she was about five months, a lot of it has been a co-sleeping affair with her flitting between her bed and ours. I got to the point recently where I started to wonder if she would ever get to the stage where she felt secure enough and confident enough to sleep on her own all the night through. Like a mirage, I started to daydream about waking up in the morning to find the little lady standing in her cot in the nursery waiting for me to pick her up. Surprisingly though, like everything else it has happened just like that. Overnight. Although it wasn’t quite as fluffy as my mirage. For one, the first morning it happened I felt like I’d been hit by a sledgehammer as a result of some very unbroken sleep from getting up to check on the little lady throughout the night, and secondly I didn’t even make it to the nursery, it was the husband who went and got her in the end. But I guess the point is that it happened. The strangest thing is however, that after months of wanting our bed back, the husband misses her and I don’t sleep as comfortably as I remember. I sleep lightly, up at every squeak from the little lady to check whether she’s ok, and when I do stumble back into bed, it just doesn’t feel as comfortable as it used to. So once again, something that we thought would be an adjustment for little lady actually turns out to be more of an adjustment for us parents.

There is nothing groundbreaking about this post. It isn’t supposed to be showy offy (I know those aren’t actually words) and in your face, although I realise it may be just a bit. I just wanted to share it with other parents out there who may be in a similar position with their little ones to show that sometimes (most of the time) these changes just happen. They don’t always need to be coerced, or stressful or upsetting. Sometimes patience can be rewarded with a happy, confident child who can and will sleep through the night independently at their will. I know this approach may not work for everyone, I know all children are different, but it worked for us and I think that is worth sharing.

After months of broken sleep, after months of sharing our bed, I feel like I can genuinely say it was all worth it. I didn’t plan to do it this way, but I’m glad we did.

I’d love to hear from others who can relate to this experience – are you a family that co-sleep, are you trying to figure out how to make that transition? Or have you already made that transition, how did it work for you, did it just happen or did you have to help things along?

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/42andpointless/8062417131/”>42andpointless</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

